RIP Nani

My mum reminded me today that 2 years ago today my grandmother passed away. It feels like an absolute lifetime ago yet I remember my reaction so perfectly.

I got a text from my brother while I was up in my bedroom at uni. I was home alone as everyone had gone home for the Easter break and I was shocked. I called, checked on him then got him to put my mum on the phone and she was in absolute floods of tears. I talked her down and even though I was over 100 miles away helped her pack her suitcase and prepare herself for the flight to see my grandfather and help him and my aunt out there.

I called all of my aunts and my uncle one by one and talked to them checking on them and seeing if anyone else was flying. I offered advice and support, along with all the love I could send them. I told them she had a long life, she had done well; she was in his 80’s so she had had a good innings. They all responded well.

Finally I called my then girlfriend and told her. She asked if I was ok and I played it off like I was fine. I had said a few months before that it wouldn’t affect me if they passed because I’ve only seen them a few times in my life and they have had no real effect on me. She said she would see me at the weekend and conversation ended. I cried for about 10 minutes I think, then got back on with my revision. It was coming up to exams and I had a lot to do. I considered telling my uni as it would be mitigating circumstances, but that didn’t seem right.

Just wanted to say a little something and smile at the few memories I have, along with the many stories passed down. Left school at 14, married to a police officer, 6 children, 5 grandchildren and the funniest dentures I have ever seen.

RIP Nani.

MMS

10 thoughts on “RIP Nani

  1. Your family are lucky to have you, I’m sure your grandmother would be proud of you looking after them all, and I think it’s really nice that you wrote this post 🙂 xx

  2. Are you really an angel?

    It is incredible and beautiful how you guided your family through such a difficult emotional time, especiallly your mother. As we say here in the South, “that can’t be taught”.

    You’re pretty special. I hope they all know it 🙂

    • I’m far from an angel Rising, so very far away from one.

      Sometimes I wonder how “special” I am. But that said I do it because it is what you are supposed to do. You support your family, and I guess anyone in my position would have done the same thing.

  3. Pingback: Church and Impulse Buys | My Mental Stream

Leave a comment